NRO credibility dismissed by Parliament: SC

Nov 30, -0001
Staff Report

ISLAMABAD: The Parliement would have approved of the NRO if it was a good ordinance, said the Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry Thursday.

He gave these remarks while hearing the petitions against the NRO. He said that the NRO would be examined on Constitutional parameters and that the court has nothing against the accused.

A unanimous petition from the government was submitted to the court during the hearing in which many points that were not mentioned in the petition, surfaced.

The government had filed another petition in which many points were disclosed, but they need not be addressed.

Shahbaz Sharif's lawyer Advocate Ashtar Ausaf Ali requested that his petition be restored which was discarded when Justice Dogar's five-member bench did not hear it. Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry instructed submission of the petition in the court.

A 17-member larger bench of Supreme Court of Pakistan headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry has started hearing the petitions related to the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) since Dec 07..

The hearing related to petitions filed by Dr Mubashar Hassan and Roedad Khan in the Supreme Court in which they have challenged the controversial ordinance, calling it contrary to the Constitution and fundamental rights.

The chief justice has appointed three amicus curiae to assist the court on the issue, including Shaiq Usmani, former judge of the Sindh High Court, Mian Allah Nawaz, advocate Supreme Court and former chief justice of Lahore High Court and M Sardar Khan, former attorney general for Pakistan.

These advocates had also been appointed as amicus curiae in October 2007 to assist the Supreme Court on the NRO issue.

The apex court has issued notices to the Attorney General of Pakistan, the petitioners and the respondents for the above date of hearing.

The court will also be hearing review petitions of Asfandyar Wali Khan and Anwar Saifullah Khan along with the petitions filed by Dr Mubashar Hassan and Roedad Khan. Meanwhile, some convicts/prisoners who have also prayed for benefit under the NRO have also been issued notices through the concerned superintendents of the jails.

The 17-member larger bench headed by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry includes Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan, Justice Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday, Justice Mian Shakirullah Jan, Justice Tassadduq Hussain Jillani, Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, Justice Raja Fayyaz Ahmed, Justice Chaudhry Ijaz Ahmed, Justice Muhammad Sair Ali, Justice Mahmood Akhtar Shahid Siddiqui, Justice Jawwad S Khawaja, Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali, Justice Khilji Arif Hussain, Justice Rahmat Husain Jafferi, Justice Tariq Parvez and Justice Ghulam Rabbani. SAMAA




Tabool ads will show in this div