Chittagong Test: Das hits ton as Bangladesh dominate against Pakistan

Match is being played at Chattogram
Nov 26, 2021
Photo: AFP
Photo: AFP
Photo: PCB
Photo: PCB
Photo: Twitter / ICC
Photo: Twitter / ICC

Liton Das scored a magnificent ton while Mushfiqur Rahim hit half-century to help Bangladesh comeback against Pakistan on day one of the Chittagong Test Friday.

Liton was on 113 alongside Mushfiqur on 82 at the stumps, guiding Bangladesh to 253-4 on the first day in Chittagong.

Opting to bat first, the hosts looked in all sorts of trouble at 49-4 before the duo turned the tide.  

Liton led the charge, hitting seven fours and hoisting off-spinner Sajid Khan over long on for his only six in the innings.

He struck left-arm spinner Nauman Ali to bring up his 10th Test fifty before Mushfiqur followed suit, his 24th in Tests, with a four off Hasan Ali.

Pakistan's bowlers had dominated the opening session as Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf and Sajid each claimed a wicket.

Afridi set the tone for Pakistan with a gem of a delivery in the fifth over that rose sharply to glance off opener Saif Hassan's bat to Abid Ali at short leg. He made 14.

Hasan Ali then trapped the other opener, Shadman Islam, leg-before for 14.

Bangladesh skipper Mominul Haque fell soon afterwards, scoring just six as Sajid spun one sharply to take an edge that was gladly accepted by wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan.

The umpire initially declared Mominul not out but the decision was overruled on review.

Najmul Hossain got off the mark with a four but he too soon perished, cutting a Faheem delivery straight to Sajid at point.

Pakistan handed batsman Abdullah Shafique a Test debut while Yasir Ali was making his Test bow for Bangladesh in the two-match series.

The Green Caps have the momentum on their back as they thrashed the host in the three-match T20I series 3-0.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, have failed to find their form even after a dismal T20 World Cup campaign.


Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali3 Azhar Ali Babar Azam (captain), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sajid Khan

Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wicketkeeper), Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Saif Hassan


first test


Tabool ads will show in this div