First Test: Openers, bowlers put Pakistan on top against Zimbabwe

Visitors trail hosts by just 73 runs in first innings
Apr 29, 2021
Photo Courtesy: PCB/ Twitter
Photo Courtesy: PCB/ Twitter
Photo Courtesy: Twitter/ Zimbabwe
Photo Courtesy: Twitter/ Zimbabwe

An unbeaten 103-run opening partnership between Abid Ali and Imran Butt has tighten Pakistan’s grip of the first Tests against Zimbabwe.

After bowling the opposition out for a below-par total, both openers showcased their talent and remained unbeaten at the end of the opening day’s play.

Abid remained 56 not out off 95 balls with the help of 10 fours whereas Imran remained not out on 43 off 88 balls with the help of four fours.

The visitors now trail the home team by just 73 runs in the first innings of the first Test.


Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi’s brilliant bowling performance was enough to bowl Zimbabwe out for just 176 in their first innings in Harare on Thursday.

The home team resumed at the score of 59-4 in the second session and managed to add another 117 runs before being bowled out just at the stroke of tea.

Hasan and Shaheen were the pick of the bowlers as they claimed four wickets each.

For the home tea, Roy Kaia finished the innings with the top score of 48 off 94 balls with the help of seven fours.


Hasan's brilliant bowling performance has left Zimbabwe reeling at lunch on the first day of the first Test against Pakistan.

The home team were reduced to just 59 for the loss of four wickets at the end of the opening session.

Hasan proved to be the star performer for the visitors as he claimed two wickets whereas Shaheen Shah Afridi and Nauman Ali claimed a wicket each.

Earlier, Zimbabwe captain Brendon Taylor won the toss and elected to bat first.

Both teams were coming into the contest after playing a hard-fought three-match T20I series where the Men-in-Green emerged victorious with a 2-1 margin.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (captain), Prince Masvaure, Kevin Kasuza, Tarisai Musakanda, Milton Shumba, Roy Kaia, Regis Chakabva (wicketkeeper), Donald Tiripano, Tendai Chisoro, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper) Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan.



pakistan cricket


Tabool ads will show in this div